Top 10 Make-up Favs’

  1. The Anastasia Beverly Hills Cream Contour kit

Honestly, this product is so pigmented, you really don’t need to use much at all. It is very chalky for a cream product and you need to make sure that you use the right tools and setting powder, but when done correctly, the finish is flawless.

I use MAC brush 235 to apply the lighter shades, Zoeva 110/Face Shape brush to apply the darker shades gently, and blend it all with a beauty blender. (Make sure you dab more than rub on the lighter areas as it can pull the product off).

 

  1. Mac Prep + Prime Skin

This is such a soft primer- really gentle with a soft matte finish (and you only need one squeeze). It makes your skin look and feel amazing! I usually use this primer along with Mac Prep + Prime natural radiance which has more of a dewy finish- so both the products react really nicely together and create a perfect base for your foundation.

I just use my fingers to apply my primer.

 

  1. Ben Nye Luxury Powder in Banana

Banana is the only shade I’ve used of this brand but there is plenty to suit a spectrum of complexions. The shade banana (quite obviously) matches well with the banana shade in my ABH Cream Contour kit. It gives a silky blended finish and stops the contour looking patchy and incomplete. The only thing is the product is quite heavy, so some setting spray can work wonders over the top.

To apply this, I use a Spectrum setting brush.

  1. Urban Decay’s Naked 3

I only have Naked 2 and 3 (these were my favorites’ from the collection), but Naked 3 definitely tops it. If I’m going for more of a natural look I simply use ‘Nooner’ all over my eyelids, simply to cover any concealer creases. If I’m going out I tend to mix a range of different palettes, but Naked 3 always stands out with its beautiful pinky tones (and I am very much a pink person). ‘Dust’ and ‘Trick’ are simply stunning.

To apply, I use a mix of Urban Decay, Spectrum, Zoeva and Mac brushes depending on my chosen look.

 

  1. Mac’s Charged Water

Not only is the packaging glittering gold, the product feels, looks and smells like a dream. I bought this recently and I cannot get over it. The directions say use before moisturizing your face- but honestly: the possibilities are endless. I use this twice during my make-up routine. Once after primer, again after setting powder is applied. It can also be used later on to re-set your make-up.

 

  1. Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow

If you want fleeky brows then look no further. This product allows you to go for a natural look, or a more solid brow. The colour options with this product are endless- and it lasts for so long as only a small amount is needed.

To apply I use the double-ended ABH brush number 12.

 

  1. Mac Prep + Prime FIX +

So I got off to a rocky start with this, but after discovering how to make it work with my skin I have nearly finished the product. I use this at the start of my routine, just after priming along with my charged water. I then use it again to spray over my make-up just after I have used my setting powder, but before the charged water. The problems I initially found with this spray was that it can take product off your face very easily (say you just sprayed it on and have a little itch next to your nose). It would remove everything off that area. I now spray a generous amount and while it is still wet, I take my hairdryer, put it on the lowest strength and heat, and spray it all over my face until it dries. It sounds ridiculous but the finish is amazing and helps to lock in any product on your face. (PLEASE MAKE SURE YOUR HAIRDRYER IS BLOWING COOL AIR BEFORE DOING THIS).

 

  1. Mac Mineralize Skinfinish

This is another product with a few beautiful shades, however I use ‘Lightscapade’. It is a very white based product and I find it quite light on my skin so I blend it into my bronzer along with Mac’s ‘Shaft of Gold’ Highlighter. The two complement each other perfectly and really balance out the contrast between the tones.

To apply I use Zoeva brush 127/Luxe Sheer Cheek.

 

  1. New CID Bronzer

This bronzer is hands down the best I’ve used. It works amazing over the darker parts of your contour. It’s not really a sought after product as there is limited knowledge on the brand, but I wouldn’t purchase a different bronzer. The powder part of the product has a beautiful marble effect, but don’t be fooled by the lighter tones in it, it is very pigmented. Once putting your brush in, you need to tap and blow just to make sure you don’t end up with a solid orange streak down your face.

To apply I use Zoeva 106/Powder.

 

  1. Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray

I first received this as a free sample when I bought one of the Naked palettes, and ended up buying to full size sprays! Spray directly over your whole face of make-up, and no special tricks or techniques required! Make-up must have.

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Make-up Favs’

Leave a comment