Girl Boss

Imagine a world where women only empower one another, listen to each other and enlighten each other with their success. Recently I was lucky enough to spend an afternoon in an environment filled with young, inspirational self-made women, guiding and sharing their journeys with those of us who envision the same success. I attended an event ‘Girl Boss’ in East London, created by, hosted and filled with extraordinary women who want more from this world.

As well as networking, I got to hear some power stories from young women such as entrepreneurs, musicians and one which stood out to my journalistic character: a 25-year-old editor-in-chief who started her own magazine called Amor. The event was hosted by 21-year-old presenter Maya Jama, who was generous enough to share her journey with us, and showing us what can really be achieved in such a short time, as long as you work hard and want it enough. It sounds so cliché, but you can really make it happen. I saw firsthand, numerous women who were still trying to adapt to their self-made successes, and weren’t planning on stopping anytime soon.

The atmosphere was powerful, and very motivationally fulfilling, the perfect ingredient with my exams fast approaching. These women were confident, and if they weren’t when they entered the venue, they glowed with it on departure. The empowerment among the room gave me the perfect balance of humbleness and feistiness, ready to work hard, and achieve everything I have ever wanted. The pressure of university can really take its toll, and sometimes it is hard to stay surfaced when it feels as though you are drowning, which I am positive anyone in higher education or starting a new career or business can relate to. The chance to physically see what I can make of myself, and what other young women can achieve made me hungry for the prosperous and successful future which I have always dreamt of.

I cannot wait to attend more events like this in the future, and to continue on the path of my aspirations, which I am paving as I go.

Leave a comment